lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Oops! Happy Valentine’s Day!

Posted by Lissa on February 15, 2012

Oops! I was so indignant about the Ministry of Truth stuff yesterday that I forgot to post Valentine’s stuff! Mike’s out of town right now so we celebrated early over the weekend. I made one of his favorite dinners, Aussie meat pies (lean ground beef, onion, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, tomato paste all simmered together and piled between puff pastry layers) — Valentine’s style!

20120215-063025.jpg

For dessert, I made red velvet mini cupcakes with vanilla buttercream frosting (yes, all of it from scratch):

20120215-063114.jpg

I had some red sugar sprinkles but decided that they weren’t necessary and might be messy. Then I watched an episode of Cupcake Wars and mourned that I hadn’t added sprinkles AND a fondant heart. Or something.

As for Valentine’s Day itself . . .

20120215-063241.jpg

My sweetie is a wonderful guy :)

I hope your Valentine’s Day held as much love and good feelings as mine did!!

3 Responses to “Oops! Happy Valentine’s Day!”

  1. Your meat pie creation looks delic!

  2. As is tradition, my wife and I exchanged a nasty cold for Valentine’s. Every years for five years. Murphy really is a butthead.

    Any chance you could send us some red velvet goodies to…err…help us get well?

  3. Kham said

    Year after year, I get my husband nothing and he gets me a card, chocolates and orchids for all the times he doesn’t clean or wash dishes.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

