lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Superbowl Spread

Posted by Lissa on February 6, 2012

We’re not going to talk about the sad, heartrending, disappointing results. No. Instead, let’s talk about food!

The one bit of pseudo-gourmet was an idea I stole from Dinner Impossible: gazpacho in cucumber shot glasses!

20120206-064537.jpg

We also had chips and salsa, pigs in a blanket and pig candy (thank you, Breda). Then for dinner Mike smoked a Boston butt roast (are you seeing a theme here with Boston and pigs?). We added roasted broccoli, a nice salad and Boston baked beans to round out the feast.

Dessert? Okay, I amused myself:

20120206-064828.jpg

I also made mini-muffins that I then brushed with melted butter and dipped in cinnamon sugar. (I stole THAT idea from The Best Thing I Ever Ate. I watch an awful lot of Food Network, if you can’t tell.) The muffins were okay but a little bland; I think next time I’ll add some cardamom.

To the Giants fans out there: You suck and I hate you. (Except for almost ALL my neighbors, who support the evil Giants. Sigh. They’re still my friends, even if they like the bad guys.)

Happy Monday, all!

2 Responses to “Superbowl Spread”

  1. Amy said

    Wow, such hatred to those of us who picked the winning team. ; )

    Actually, I’m a die hard Colts fan which is why I went for the Giants. (Tom Brady definitely looks the best in the uniform… ) They were playing in the house that Manning built so it only seemed right that a Manning win this year. Since Peyton is hurt and might never get to play again, it seemed right that little brother, Eli, bring the win home.

    Sounds like you had great food and a good time!

  2. Cher said

    I’m definitely going to have to try those shooters! Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

 
