lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Fun with contractors!

Posted by Lissa on September 1, 2011

Whether or not you believe in God, it should be pretty obvious that He (or She, or the Great Pumpkin) has one hell of a sense of humor.

My job seems to be going out of its way to make me do the things I hate.  Whether it’s writing a resume for my boss (I HATE RESUME WRITING) or comparing Internet packages and moving quotes (those are Mike-jobs!), I’m being forced to do in my professional life what I try to avoid in my personal life.

Such as deal with contractors.

It’s ironic that the same week I left this quote at Breda’s

Wow. Lesson to Lissa: Leave the house alone. Do not mess with the house. The house always wins.

— I find myself stuck with shoddy contractors at the office.

Technically I don’t KNOW that they’re shoddy, only that they do shoddy work.

Such as building the kitchen wall ABOUT TEN INCHES TOO SHORT. The wall is currently level with the top of the cupboards.  That means not only that the counter will actually be TALLER than the wall, once it goes on, but there’s no room for a backsplash.  Charming!

Oh, but it gets better.  Whip out a tape measure, and it turns out they also built the wall FOUR INCHES TOO CLOSE to the existing wall.  Oopsy!  So . . . the fridge won’t fit.  So they have to CHOP OFF THE LAST CUPBOARD and replace it with a narrower cupboard and take off the granite countertop and CHOP FOUR INCHES OFF IT and polish and seal it and put it back.

Are you kidding me?  Are you freaking kidding me?  This is what you do for a living, and you can’t be bothered to check your work against the plans?!?!

Throw in the carpet that wasn’t delivered on time – because it wasn’t ordered until two weeks after it was supposed to be delivered – and, well, it’s been a helluva week.

P.S. At least all these mistakes aren’t wrecking *my* budget.  If I ever get work done on my house – any kind of re-modeling whatsoever – I’m tape-measuring every dimension of that sucker every single night.  BECAUSE APPARENTLY CONTRACTORS CAN’T BLOODY COUNT.

2 Responses to “Fun with contractors!”

  1. Josh K. said

    Mistakes?

    Is your company paying fir the extra work?

    Josh

  2. I have had the same problem with contractors down here. I think it’s because of the huge transient population down here. In effect, your house/business/whatever is being build/remodeled by the homeless. We had an addition put onto the house and almost NOTHING was done like it was supposed to be. The wrong cabinets in the kitchen, they totally FORGOT to put in the sky-lights, the foundation for the addition wasn’t poured to the dimentions that it was supposed to be, the tile work is shoddy in one of the bathrooms and not much better in the rest of the house. Much of it LOOKS level, untill you actually get a level and check, then you realize that the contractor must not believe in levels. We have gotten nothing but stupid excuses from the contractor for most of these issues.

    I’m with you, next time I use a contractor for something, I’m going to be SUCH a pain in the ass. I will double check EVERYTHING.

    s

Leave a Reply

 
