lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

In which I am very glad that I keep a first aid kit in my car

Posted by Lissa on June 16, 2011

It’s a gorgeous summer day in Florida. The birds are singing. The sky is blue. I take my time strolling to the office mailbox, turning my face up to the sun. I close my eyes to savor the rays on my face, take a deep breath, and lower my head to keep walking.

Good thing, too. Because otherwise I wouldn’t have seen that lovely sun glinting off the Magnum wrapper in the parking lot.

(And no, I don’t mean the new ice cream treat with the horrible name. I mean the . . . Well, you all know damn well what I mean!!)

I think … I *believe* … that it was dropped and run over. That’s why there was a slit down the front and a bit of latex sticking out. My mind refuses to comprehend any other possibility.

BECAUSE THIS IS IN FRONT OF OUR OFFICE IN THE PARKING LOT. WHERE THE CLIENTS AND POTENTIAL CLIENTS WALK. AND IT CANNOT STAY THERE.

So, yeah. If you don’t keep a full kit in your car with band-aids, gauze, tape, triple antibiotic, PLASTIC BAGS AND PAPER TOWELS AND GLOVES GLOVES GLOVES etc … You may want to. You never know what icky thing you’ll stumble upon.

5 Responses to “In which I am very glad that I keep a first aid kit in my car”

  1. Jay G. said

    Found a “Coney Island whitefish” at the baseball park the other night.

    The ballpark where my 8 year old daughter and 10 year old son play their baseball games, not a pro/semi-pro/pro-am park.

    Obviously someone’s getting to home base…

  2. The wife and I were hiking in the Middlesex Fells and we came across a condom wrapper in the middle of the trail.

    Unfortunately we also found the large group of naked males who were USING said condoms.

    Glad I was armed, glad they weren’t interested in the disgusted hikers.

  3. North said

    Perfect reason to keep latex gloves in the glove box. (Ha!)

    They are so small when rolled up (the GLOVES!) that I might keep a pair in my pocket.

  4. Lissa said

    Ewwwwww to all the above ew ew ew!!!

  5. Years ago, when I spent a week in Vegas with my parent’s while they attended a conference, my father and I decided to try out the hotel pool.

    Right after I dived, opened my eyes, and began to swim, an unwrapped condom drifted by my face. Needless to say, I could not get out of that V.D. stew fast enough and took a long shower.

Leave a Reply

 
