lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie, Oh my!!

Posted by Lissa on May 18, 2011

I think this is the best pie I’ve made so far!!!

20110518-120948.jpg
sing a song of sixpence …

I used frozen rhubarb since I couldn’t find fresh, used the birdie to vent steam, brushed the crust with an egg yolk and sprinkled with sugar. I think the real secret is that I mixed the fruit, sugar and flour and let it sit for a half hour, then scooped it into the pie shell with a slotted spoon. That absolutely kept it from being soupy.

Top it with homemade whipped cream, and I have LITERALLY been licking the plate after every slice. Yum!!!

7 Responses to “Strawberry Rhubarb Pie, Oh my!!”

  1. bluesun said

    I’ve got a (home grown) rhubarb crumble in the oven as I type this–I’m not sure if rhubarb is a fruit or a vegetable, but I think it’s my favorite.

  2. secretlivesofscientists said

    Yummmm! recipe?

  3. Got some of the same in my fridge….but being from Maine, we don’t feel the need to add Strawberries. Not sure as the Strawberry Rhubarb is pretty damn good, but all the hardcore Mainers pooh-pooh such things.

    I like the birdie! Where’d you get it? I want one!

  4. My rhubarb needs to hurry up and grow. Time to make a snack, I’m hungry now.

  5. Dave said

    My favorite pie. I must ask my wife VERY nicely to make me one.. I’m not very good at baking pies.

  6. Ruth said

    rhubarb is generally pretty easy to grow though I’ve no idea how it would do in FL, my dad cans up jars of puree each year to use throughout the coming year. Just put some plants in the ground here so I can do all sorts of rhubarb stuff myself!

  7. Steve Voss said

    Yummy. Try the next one with cherries and rhubard, you’ll be amazed.

Leave a Reply

 
