lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

PETA pathetics.

Posted by Lissa on May 4, 2011

Via Best of the Web a few days ago, the PETA numb nuts strike again:

Domestic dogs, cats, hamsters or budgerigars should be rebranded as “companion animals” while owners should be known as “human carers,” they insist.
Even terms such as wildlife are dismissed as insulting to the animals concerned–who should instead be known as “free-living,” the academics including an Oxford professor suggest. . . .
“Despite its prevalence, ‘pets’ is surely a derogatory term both of the animals concerned and their human carers,” the editorial claims

.

I have said it before and I’ll say it again — PETS ARE NOT PEOPLE. We do not regularly castrate people. We do not buy and sell people for money. We do not put shock collars on people. We do not have People Farms (though of course I don’t approve of puppy mills).

As for “wildlife” versus “free living” … I kind of get the impression that someone smoked WAY too much pot. Or dropped too much acid and had an “experience” with a cricket or robin. Just sayin’.

3 Responses to “PETA pathetics.”

  1. secretlivesofscientists said

    Um, I lovingly call my dog “monkey face.” I don’t know why exactly, but probably due to all the love and attention and petting that I give my *pet* I don’t think she feels marginalized. Srsly, Lissa has met my dog: she is not a marginal animal. She owns our house and yard, we just live there.

  2. Yeah. I asked my Master if he objected to being called a pet. He said, “Shut up and scratch my chin some more. And the spot above my nose. And when you’re done, I’ll have another can of Florentine”.

    You know what they say. Dogs have owners, cats have staff. I’m staff.

  3. BornLib said

    I think they might have missed the point when they read Animal Farm.

Leave a Reply

 
