lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

I lived!

Posted by Lissa on February 22, 2011

First, a big thank you to Amy, George, Christina LMT, Butch Cassidy, Terrence and To Old to Work — I really was a bit nervous for my first day, so your comments were really appreciated!!

I think I’ll do just fine at Florida Financial.  It’s a very different place from Ye Olde Financial Company, but different doesn’t mean worse; just not-familiar.  I suppose that any place would have been different, really, since Ye Olde Financial Company was the only place that I worked after college.  Kind of nice to think that the real company-references on my resume just doubled ;-)

I’m still working on classes at the community college — I had NO FREAKING IDEA THERE WERE SO MANY G**DAMNED BONES IN THE HUMAN BODY, LET ALONE THE MARKINGS — which means that my life is going to be pretty busy this year.  My current plan is to try to finish up all my prerequisites this year.  If all goes well, then I can decide at year-end whether A) I love Florida Financial and want to stay there for years, or B) it’s really time to go to nursing school.  If Option A ends up being where it’s at, then I imagine nursing school will be put off until we move again (we think that’s pretty likely in 5-7 years).  In the meantime, I’ve ordered a 16.5″ skeleton and a skull so I can put my fingers on things as I learn them.

And hey, it’s a headstart for Halloween decorations! Yay!!

9 Responses to “I lived!”

  1. Amy said

    Glad your first day went well

  2. B said

    Yay!!! for your first day.

    I would suggest the anatomy and Physiology coloring book to help with the class. I found it very helpful back in the dark ages when i took A&P.

    as for nursing school… I highly suggest looking for a entry level MSN program or a second degree program, these are usually 3 yr programs for those with a Bachelor’s degree and the prereq’s done. you get your BSN after the 1st year and can work as an RN while continuing your education.

    I suggest this for a few reason… first I think your head might explode if you have to deal with your typical 18-20 yo college student day in and day out…. lol

    second the typical second degree student is much more focus and attentive to learning, and you would enjoy that group much more.

    third… it’s much easier to get ones master’s degree prior to children.

    all of the above are from personal experience.

    also keep in mind you can easily bring your financial background to your nursing career.

    good luck
    B

  3. 1. There need to be pictures when this skeleton/skull comes in.

    2. Even if you do stay with heartless-capitalist-corp, may I suggest that you at least look into an EMT certification and license? It is a time-sink, but should you ever in the future decide to go to nursing school anyway, you will at least be practiced and have a good bit of training already.

    3. Here’s hoping that you continue to be happy with your new gig.

  4. Sarah said

    I think you should go to medical school and become a doctor RIGHT NOW. See, I have this rash, and I could send you an iPhone picture…

    …just kidding.

    Seriously, though, I’m glad your first day went well. :)

  5. Terence said

    Congrats on making it through.

  6. secretlivesofscientists said

    Oh god, yeah, anatomy….the bones…knowing the bones was the easy part – but all the parts of the bones, the attachment points, trochantors, articulations…Flech!!!! Good luck, and three words:

    Anatomy Coloring Book!

    http://search.barnesandnoble.com/The-Anatomy-Coloring-Book/Wynn-Kapit/e/9780805350869

    My friends who have done the basic EMT training course swear by it for the fast learning of anatomy.

  7. Jennifer said

    Yay!! :) Glad your first day went well.

  8. “I had NO FREAKING IDEA THERE WERE SO MANY G**DAMNED BONES IN THE HUMAN BODY, LET ALONE THE MARKINGS”

    Some of them are duplicates, well actually mirror images! :)

    My only advice is to get your degree as soon as you can. Nursing is a pretty portable skill. If you and Mike move, you’ll probably have less trouble getting a new job than you will in the financial industry. Plus, not that I’m trying to project the trajectory of your lives, you’ll probably have kids at some point. School is much harder when you have little children to care for as well. Just stuff to think about.

    I’m glad you like the new job.

  9. wolfwalker said

    I had NO FREAKING IDEA THERE WERE SO MANY G**DAMNED BONES IN THE HUMAN BODY, LET ALONE THE MARKINGS

    Um, would it help to say “It could be worse, y’know”? You could be studying veterinary medicine, not human medicine, and have to memorize all that stuff for multiple species — dog, cat, horse, cow, sheep …

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

