lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Speed Demon!

Posted by Lissa on January 19, 2011

Dear Volvo Owner,

It is true that the speed limit in our community is 25 mph.  It is true that the speed limit is reinforced by regular stop signs.  Still, the customary speed in our area is usually 30 mph or slightly above.  I will not yell at you, nor tailgate, nor honk my horn should you insist on driving 25 mph, but I reserve the right to grumble aloud.

On the other hand?  If the tow truck hauling a station wagon has gained so much ground in front of that its blinking lights can no longer be seen, that is a pretty good sign that YOU ARE GOING TOO F***ING SLOW.

JUST BECAUSE THERE IS A 25 MPH MAXIMUM DOES NOT MEAN YOU SHOULD BE GOING 10 MPH BELOW THE SPEED LIMIT.  IF IT IS DUE TO CAR DAMAGE, KINDLY PUT ON YOUR EMERGENCY BLINKERS SO THAT MY RAGE WILL SUBSIDE.

Best regards,

Lissa

7 Responses to “Speed Demon!”

  1. Carteach said

    I have given up anger at such people in my life. Instead, I remind myself that person is probably driving to the best of their ability…. limited as it is.

    Also, at the first sign of the car veering the slightest from straight and true, I call 911 and report a possible impaired driver. It’s great fun to watch the nice officer zip past me and close up on the slow poke for a while, before pulling them over. (Several times, I have seen the stop on the police blotter, and it indeed was an impaired driver.)

    • Lissa said

      Not a bad idea! But remember, i’m in Florida, so there are rather a lot of elderly drivers

      • PhillipC said

        Actually, elderly drivers are frequently impaired, due to the medications they are on. Sometimes they don’t have anyone in the family that they listen to when they’re told that they should no longer be driving. Use the 911 service if you think they’re doing more than being cautious.

        Spoken as someone who’s found a love of going the speed limit because I hate paying the fines for speeding. Oh, and I live in Leesburg FL just south of The Villages, a GIGANTIC batch of old people. I know how they drive.

  2. That’s one of my biggest peeves about driving in the Sunshine State.

  3. Jay G. said

    OMG! I’m a bad influence!

Leave a Reply

 
