lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

What, exactly, are we supposed to take away from this?

Posted by Lissa on September 16, 2010

You know, when I was younger I was sooooooo trendy and cutting edge and funky.  The older I get, the more I go for a nice v-neck shirt, an A-line skirt and stilettos.  But even in my most tweener years, I don’t think I would have understood this:

A moderately attractive woman with a very toned body is wearing slabs of meat as a fashion statement.  Wha??

P.S. Jay rolled over one million hits today; Breda beat him by six days.  Go wish them both a hearty congrats!

8 Responses to “What, exactly, are we supposed to take away from this?”

  1. Brad K. said

    So . . is that garment tagged “Dry Clean Only”, and is there a surcharge at the cleaner?

    Does she have a health department permit, or an EPA environmental impact statement filed, to walk around with that much food product contaminating every surface she touches?

    What does it smell like when she works up a sweat . . uh, I mean when she “glows”?

    Is this the natural extension of edible underwear? I would hate to have to pick her duds when she stumbles home from tying one on. How would you keep a pet dog from messing up the closet?

    And doesn’t she know that you take the hide off the animal, make the clothes from the hide, and eat the inside part? How many cows and pigs did she kill to make that use-once garment? And did she buy the meat at a grocery store like a civilized person, instead of having some farm animal killed? Does she count the barrels of oil used in creating polyester and other fabrics, or consumed in weaving cloth, making clothes, etc. of the more traditional fashion?

    At any rate, this seems to be just another shameless act of conspicuous consumption, making clothes that will only be worn once. Just think how many thousands of gallons of water the cows consumed while making that outfit (and producing enough fertilizer to enrich acres of pasture and gardens).

    I don’t want one of those, please.

  2. Jay G. said

    Thanks Lissa!

    As for the dress, *yawn* is about all I can say. It’s a “Look at me be all edgy” sort of thing, nothing else. Exactly why I don’t watch television…

  3. mike w. said

    I vote option X – Meat is tasty!

  4. Brad K. said

    I bet that dress made the Sunday’s MTV Video Music Awards hand in their “No animals were harmed in the making of this show” certificate.

    Jim DeRogatis has an interesting take on this – and a delightful Beatles album cover.
    http://blogs.vocalo.org/jderogatis/2010/09/lady-gaga-gets-beat-for-her-meat/37047

  5. I’m sure PETA is mighty pissed off at this, and that alone makes me smile.

  6. bluesun said

    What about the option that says–“AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH!!!” as you run from the room?

  7. totwtytr said

    Like most so called celebrities, she’s crying “Look at me, Look at me, I’m a unique individual just like everyone else.” Pathetic. She’s supposed to be some kind of singer, so I’ll just leave it at the words of In Jennifer’s Head, “So, shut your pie hole and dance, monkey!”

  8. john b said

    it was more activistic when Ann Simington thought of it! fifteen years ago. Though I liked the womens shirtless protest better.

Leave a Reply

 
