lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

ZOMG ITZ A SWITCHBLADE!!!

Posted by Lissa on September 3, 2010

Seriously, Hollywood?  I don’t expect you to know the first damn thing about guns.  I’m used to it, I accept it, I’ve moved on.  But, honestly, since when does a simple spring assisted opening knife become a standard FBI issue SWITCHBLADE?!?

(What’s sad is that he’s right . . . I bet the Smithsonian *doesn’t* let its workers have those . . . )

I like Covert Affairs, I really do.  Annie Walker is cute and I like her shoes.  Auggie’s a sweetie and definite eye candy.  But when a covert CIA agent fairly brags that she doesn’t carry a gun . . . and has THIS reaction to a pocket knife . . . well . . . next time Agent Walker has a few days off I know this great place she could visit . . .

6 Responses to “ZOMG ITZ A SWITCHBLADE!!!”

  1. wolfwalker said

    ?? [confusion] I thought “switchblade” _means_ “a spring-assisted opening knife.” That’s how I’ve always used the word, at least. Press a switch or a button and the blade pops out, right?

    • Lissa said

      wolfwalker, a lot of folks differentiate between a switchblade (in which you push a button in the handle and the knife pops out) and an assisted opening knife (in which you must manually push hard enough to overcome the torsion bar resistance). More colloquially, switchblades are *supposed* to be small, shiny, skinny and double-edged 😉 (Sort of like “scary black rifles” . . . )

      If you’re interested, you can find some concurring (although certainly not definitive) opinions here, here, and here.

  2. What gets me is why people are even concerned about how a knife opens?

    Its either a fixed blade or a folding knife. The mechanics on HOW it opens don’t seem to be relevant.

    But then again I’m a knife guy and have handled all sorts of non-assisted knives, assisted knifes, and honest-to-god automatic knives (Switch blades), and I find that I prefer members of the first that operate smoothly, as they open as fast or faster than any of the others, but do so far more mechanically simply.

    But we all know that people who write such laws don’t actually KNOW what they’re writing laws about.

  3. wolfwalker said

    OK, which type of knife is in that clip: ‘assisted-open’ or honest-to-ghu switchblade? I can’t tell; it’s actually opened off-camera.

    Weer’d: remember the rumble scene from West Side Story. Switchblades are viewed by the Powers That Be as street-punk weapons: small, easily concealed, can be drawn and readied with one hand where a conventional pocketknife usually requires two hands.

    I wonder if it also has something to do with history. Like Lissa says, the classic switchblade is long, narrow, double edged, and pointed — basically a stiletto. I have the distinct impression that the stiletto was long regarded as a criminal’s weapon.

  4. David said

    My first comment to my wife was, that’s not a switchblade, it looks like an assisted opener. As for the reaction to the knife, the writer must by British..

  5. BenC said

    I started out liking the show but the lack of gun use is becoming the elephant in the room that I am having a hard time ignoring.

Leave a Reply

 
