lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

The funniest thing you’ll see today

Posted by Lissa on August 16, 2010

I was going to post on this video, and how it made me cry, and how it made me think about why men and women stay in abusive relationships. They say love and hatred are two sides of the same coin.

But then I realized that I didn’t have any answers.  Or any particular insight.

Also, this is a website that’s more about oatmeal cream pies than the sad and painful factors that go into a relationship like that.

So, instead, I’m posting this video.  If you make it to 1:45 without rolling on the floor — well, then, you’re a better person than I :)

[You can watch it muted - it's not like you're missing anything.  See, this is why children shouldn't try to be sex symbols before they're old enough to drink.]

5 Responses to “The funniest thing you’ll see today”

  1. Brad K. said

    Ah, excess affluence.

    I don’t think any child – or adult – should be a sex idol or icon or whatever. Productive in the community, a comfort to friends and neighbors, wealthy enough to feed friends and loved ones, and disciplined to complete tasks honorable and faithfully – that, I think, is a person to respect and emulate.

    As for staying in abusive relationships, that is no different than allowing tobacco, alcohol, or other substances to intrude into lives. We just pick and choose who we “educate” and “rescue”.

    I consider every relationship that restricts one’s role in the community to be abusive, not just those with obvious and repeated incidents of violence, anger, or intimidation.

    As for “avis Cyrus”, that was just sad.

  2. bluesun said

    It’s official. I’m boycotting pop music.

    …yoikes

  3. ATTYYA said

    Made it 2:02. I believe we now know the source of the Salmonella tainted eggs. GACK!

  4. [...] know.  Low-hanging fruit.  I KNOW.  But really, if I don’t do it, who will?  And one hysterical laughing fit per [...]

  5. MPH said

    I’m a newcomer to your site. So far, I like it. But I have to object to this one.

    Actually, I liked the video and the song. And this is the first Miley Cyrus video I have ever seen, and the first song I’ve heard by her (I don’t listen to top 40 radio stations any more not because I want to avoid the music, but because I have found I can no longer stand the chattering of DJs and commercials; I thank software engineers for MP3 CD players every time I get in my car). But your finding it funny is not what I object to.

    I object to this: ..this is why children shouldn’t try to be sex symbols..

    You think Miley is a child. She almost certainly is NOT (notice that she has breasts, a sign that a female has made it into and/or past puberty). For some reason in the USA we’ve developed this false idea that people are not adults until they are 18 (some even think it’s 21). You’re an adult when you’re able to breed. Any other definition is arbitrary (why 18? why not 27? or 81?). I know that in my step-daughter’s case, she started menstruating at 9, and was essentially done growing at 12 (the last 10 years of growth, which in the USA typically starts at 13 for females and 15 for males, usually results in only 1 inch of additional height). By any meaningful biological measure, my stepdaughter was an adult at 12. I know a couple whose daughter went from no breasts to a D cup in 3 months, starting 3 months after her 12th birthday. By 13.5 years of age, she was within 1 inch of her current height at age 23 (I know this because my wife and I bought their house, and the room I am sitting in right now still has her dated growth marks on the door frame). She was certainly through puberty before her 14th birthday, and likely earlier. It is quite likely that this is true of Miley as well. Go look at pictures of her from 4-5 years ago; has she gotten appreciably taller? Breasts larger? If not, she was probably through puberty back then, and therefore an adult by any meaningful biological measure at that point. But for some reason, she is still viewed as a child by some, including, by your own admission, you, despite the fact that she was almost 18 at the time of your post. That’s absurd, but the absurdity is not hers, it’s those who still falsely see her as a child.

    As a society, we’ve lost touch with reality in this. According to the book “Paul Revere and the World He Lived In” (a pulitzer prize winner for history), Paul’s second wife was 21 when they married (his first wife died; he remarried 3 months later). His second wife had a 5 year old child from her first husband, who was a soldier killed in the revolution. That means she was likely 16 when the kid was born, although she could have been 15 (depending on where in the calendar year her birthday, her child’s birthday, and her wedding to Paul occurred relative to each other). Which means there’s a better than 75% chance she was 15 or younger when she got pregnant. And according to a couple I used to know, their doctor told them that in the absence of birth control, having sex 3 times per week, it takes an average of 1 year for a woman to get pregnant. If that is true, it is likely that Paul’s second wife was married and having sex with her first husband when she was 14. And that was considered NORMAL back then. Certainly it would be unlikely that a silversmith of good repute, in staid, straight-laced Boston, would marry someone who had shamed herself in the eyes of her neighbors by having gotten pregnant prior to her wedding, or having married absurdly young.

    In the book Grapes of Wrath (another pulitzer winner), which was written after Steinbeck spent time living with the migrant workers in California during the dust bowl years of the 1930s (or so, I don’t recall exactly when the dust bowl occurred), and was written in an effort to garner sympathy for their plight, he writes of 14 year old “girls” heading into the woods for “trysts” with their 16 year old “boyfriends”, with parents reduced to thinking something like “if she’s gonna do it, she’s gonna do it, and calling her back now will just delay the inevitable; we’ll just have to trust her to do the right thing”. Again, parents accepted the idea that their 14 year old daughters were adults. Something we have, for some reason unknown to me, forgotten.

    And as for being “old enough to drink”, the idea of an arbitrary minimum age to be allowed to drink a very new phenomena. Hell, I’m old enough to have been able to drink at 18 (Miley’s current age, as of this comment), and I’m only 47. That’s how new the idea of a minimum drinking age of 21 is in the USA.

    So while what you find funny and what I find funny can differ for a variety of reasons, if the reason you find this funny is because you still think of Miley as a “girl”, instead of a “woman” (albeit a young one), you need to reassess your view of her as a child; it’s patently false.

    Sorry about the length, and keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

