lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Things that make you go mmmmm

Posted by Lissa on August 11, 2010

Have I mentioned that I’m poetry-challenged?

I am, really. I think it might have something to do with the way I read — I gulp my books, not pausing to chew and swallow.  Poetry forces me to slow waaaaaay down and before I reach the end of the poem my mind has shifted off to wondering whether the Fug Girls have updated their blog or if there’s still bacon in the fridge or if I need a haircut or

For unto us a child is born
Unto us
A son is given
Unto us
A son is given . . .

What? Your mind doesn’t break into classical music whenever it’s quiet for a few moments?

Anyway, with that in mind, it won’t surprise you that this is my favorite poem:

Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.

“Fire and Ice” by Robert Frost.  I’m betting y’all knew that already, but that doesn’t excuse me from proper citation, now does it?

And the eternal question posed by Fire and Ice is . . .

Do I want sirloin AND shrimp? How much room will I have for baby bok choy and onions and mushrooms and scallions? Will I need a whole ‘nother bowl for the garlic? No, they charge for that. Will the scallops and sausage feel abandoned and need a token representation?

In other words, it’s Trivia Night at Fire and Ice, and we’re staying for dinner!  Yay!

One more thing to cross off my Boston Bucket List . . .

P.S. I’ve had wildly varying success at trivia, as expected. I don’t know enough about pop culture to get the Ryan Seacrest references, I don’t know enough about geography to guess that Tunisia is the northernmost country in Africa, and I haven’t watched enough classic movies to recognize Glenn Close or the scene from Wag the Dog.  I can, however, name you the four houses of Hogwarts, fill in the last lines of Rhett Butler, figure out that the civil war novel referenced is The Red Badge of Courage, tell you that Ariana Huffington is from Greece, and recognize Johnny Depp in a long-ago music video.  None of which will ever win me a round of Trivial Pursuit.  **sigh**

One Response to “Things that make you go mmmmm”

  1. Brad K. said

    Me, I go with Shel Silverstein for poetry. “Dreadful” is memorable.

    Well, anyway, it is entertaining when there is nothing on the radio and I am still 40 miles from my next Census assignment area. Silverstein wrote Johnny Cash’s “Boy Named Sue”, the “Great Smokeoff” (Beware of being the roller, when there’s nothing left to roll.) And the immortal “Sarha Silvia Cynthia Stout Would Not Take The Garbage Out”.

    See? There are worse things than remembering a bit of Frost. Like remembering a snippet from Junior High, and cannot track down the reference. “Hard words/like jack boots/cannot be recalled.”

    Limericks are poems, you know. Like the Odyssey and the Illiad, um, they are poems, not limericks, and Shakespeare is mostly verse, too, which is a kind of poem. Stuff written out is mostly either poetry or poesy.

    I was taught that poetry has more information density than plain writing or speaking. Like haiku (bad haiku?), thought and care is needed to get the sound, the meaning, the rhythm all working together to convey a desired message. Subtle shifts of a poem can have immense effect on the message and the impact. Plain writing is less dense, less sensitive to nuances.

    Then there is the genre of love poems

    Roses are red
    violets are purple
    sugar is sweet
    and so’s maple surple. (a bit of poetic license. ahem.)

    Live and fly,
    rising high
    Thrive on the warmth
    of the sun.

    Either that, or
    The morning sun may kiss the grass,
    the clock may kiss the hours that pass,
    the flowing wine can kiss the glass,
    and you, my friends, drink hearty!
    (from “Ikey and Mikey”, Benny Bell)

Leave a Reply

 
