lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Movie Review: All Saints Day

Posted by Lissa on July 22, 2010

Short review: Yay! Happy movie!

Longer review: I think you have to be a big Boondock Saints (the first one) fan to love this movie.  Luckily, I am 🙂

It’s got the same quick, clever dialogue and campy relationship between the brothers that I enjoyed in the first movie.  I particularly enjoy the sibling-whapping that regularly ensues, such as the below (language warning!):

(Norman Reedus hasn’t aged particularly well, I must note.)

And while I adore Willem Dafoe, I just love Julie Benz in the FBI ass-kicker role.  If nothing else, I loved this: They dressed her in tight outfits (per usual Hollywood norms) and had her OPEN CARRY.  INSTEAD OF PRETENDING THAT HER SKINTIGHT OUTFIT MAGICALLY HID A LARGE HANDGUN. *cough cough BURN NOTICE cough IN THE LINE OF FIRE cough NCIS cough cough* etc.  HALLELUJAH!

(That’s CLEARLY a stage gun, so no yelling about improper gun handling, m’kay?)

OF COURSE it’s not as good as the first one.  They never are.  But they bring back all my favorite characters, have some really fun scenes and dialogue, and entertained me very well.  That’s all I ask of a sequel.

P.S. WHY, oh WHY, do Hollywood guns go FORWARD when the trigger is squeezed?  It’s against all laws of physics!!!

5 Responses to “Movie Review: All Saints Day”

  1. Hm. Hate to disagree with a lady but IMO the sequel was missing the one thing that made the 1st one so special: righteousness. Plus, what happened to all the heavy-handed (but fun) moralizing of the first story? They promise Old Testament retribution and then never delivered it? The first one isn’t a caper “whodunnit?” film – it’s a morality play with great dialogue and relationships. The second is just a caper film. All IMO of course.

    • Lissa said

      ***SPOILERS***

      A valid viewpoint, for sure. But the way I look at it – It’s a revenge flick! The old bad-guy-from-the-past has his flunky kill the innocent-and-righteous to lure the boys out of hiding to lure the father out of hiding. It’s adds in a nice touch of Kill Bill.

  2. Jennifer said

    I likes it. Wasn’t as good as the original, but it was still fun.

  3. JD said

    I have to say I liked it. She was a bit of a clone of William for me but fun anyway. A good follow up. I agree the first one was better but then they always are. Nice to see they left it open for #3 = )

  4. JD said

    oh ya, and love the ghost of funny man in there, and the cat too if I remember right = )

Leave a Reply

 
