lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Workout Wednesday, and thank-you’s

Posted by Lissa on June 9, 2010

Good morning everyone, and thank you so much for the comments yesterday!!  You’ve now got me convinced that:

1) I can learn how to sew;

2) Ricotta would be a good substitute to try (and I whip the hell out of it during the frosting-making process, so texture shouldn’t be a problem); and

3) HOLY CRAP LEATHER WORKING IS WAY BEYOND MY CURRENT ABILITIES.  DAMN. Perhaps I’ll have to commission one of you lovely experts to make me a holster 🙂  (Actually, the real reason I wish I could sew leather is that I really like my current method of carry, but it could be SO MUCH BETTER with a few changes — i.e., if it was actually designed to be a carry method.  Oh well.)

On to the exercise stuff!  I’m currently on Week 5 of my c25k run, and the big insight I have is this:

I was running too fast.

Running at 7 mph, while good, was just beyond my abilities to sustain.  I feel a little bad dropping it to 6 mph, but that pace let me do three 5-min segments, or two 8-min segments, without crapping out, passing out, or throwing up.  I hope to work up to a faster speed eventually, but for now each running day has me running longer and longer periods; I plan to stick with the slower pace.  (Tomorrow’s run is 20-min straight.  *trepidation*)

Here’s what’s topping my workout list this week:

  1. I Write Sins Not Tragedies by Panic at the Disco
  2. Wake Up Call by Maroon 5
  3. Pocketful of Sunshine by Natasha Bedingfield
  4. Bottom of the Bottle by Smile Empty Soul
  5. Let Me Go by 3 Doors Down

Happy Exercising!

3 Responses to “Workout Wednesday, and thank-you’s”

  1. Brad_in_MA said

    Lissa,

    If you’re *really* interested in learning how to sew, especially on a machine, I’ve got a deal for you. My wife and I have an early 1960’s Singer Featherweight portable electric machine that’s not doing anything except collecting dust. I believe the machine is in working condition. I was planning on selling it but if you want first dibs, email me at bradr65 – at- gmail – dot – com.

    Regards,

    Brad

  2. Don’t let the nay-sayers scare you. I hand-stitch leather holsters as a hobby. Sure, it isn’t fast, but it’s not really all that hard. I made a holster last weekend and went from creating a pattern to done (other than staining, and I could have done that too) in one day. I don’t bother with glue since I am sewing anyway and that cuts down on the amount of time it takes to get things togeather (and yes, my holsters hold up fine without the glue, it’s more for convenience during construction anyway). Also, some of my designs use wet-molding and some don’t so that is really optional. I tend to use a lighter 6-7oz leather for the IWB holsters that I make except I think I’ll be getting some 8-9oz leather for holsters for a few of my full size (heavier) guns. Not so much for the strength, the 6-7oz leather is strong enough, but for the added structure (so the finished holster will flex less).

    I started hand-stitching because I carry a few less-than-common guns from time to time and it is hard to find good leather for them. Now anything I need, I just make myself. It also gives me a creative outlet. Recently, I had someone argue that one of my holsters was store-bought because a home-made holster just CANT look that good. So I guess I must be doing something right.

    s

  3. Sevesteen said

    I thought leather working was beyond MY abilities too–but I’ve only been doing it since early April, and I am astounded at how well my holsters are turning out. I tried to go too radical with my first holster but every one since has been functionally better than a gunshop holster. Recently I’m even happy with the appearance of what I’m making.

Leave a Reply

 
