lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Speak softly, and carry a big . . . well, just speak softly

Posted by Lissa on April 12, 2010

Good morning all!  How was your weekend?  It’s Monday morning – fleh! – but I had a great weekend and I have a full mug of coffee sitting in front of me, so things could be a lot worse.

I did have one slight mishap yesterday, though; I kind of scared one of the nice women at the shelter.  MH has arthritis and asked for help opening a bottle of bleach.  I twisted the cap off for her, but the stupid little plastic “pull to open” tab defeated us both.

“I’ll go get a knife,” MH said.

“Oh it’s all right, I’ve got one,” I said, and pulled my folding knife out of my pocket.  It’s a very basic spring-loaded knife with the Marines logo.  I quickly stabbed through the plastic, yanked it off, wiped the knife on my pants and stuck it back in my pocket.

“Oh my god! She’s got a switchblade!” MH half-laughed, half-yelped.

“Oh, come on, it’s not a switchblade,” I corrected smilingly.  “It’s just a spring-loaded knife.”

“Better not bring that into Boston,” she warned me.

“Yeah I know, how stupid are those two-and-a-half inch rules?” I shook my head.

She didn’t shy away from me the rest of the morning, but somehow I don’t think MH would be interested in a range trip.

How was everybody’s weekend?  Oh, and does anyone near Lissaville need a kitty?

2 Responses to “Speak softly, and carry a big . . . well, just speak softly”

  1. Brad K. said

    Pimping for the shelter like that video, well, it is just shameless.

    Thankfully I had a stray wander up, yowling all the time. “Yodel” seems to have joined the barn cats, for the time being. If the cat keeps clawing the screen door – and the class one, too, – though, there may need to be some readjustments in the arrangement.

  2. Breda said

    I’ve used my spring loaded knife a few times at the reference desk. I think I scare the other librarians.

Leave a Reply

 
