lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

I know I’m not that important

Posted by Lissa on April 8, 2010

Truly, I do.

I once heard another blogger gently criticized for thinking that the world revolved around her.  You could easily make the same criticism about my site.  It revolves around my thoughts, my feelings, my cat and what I frickin’ ate for dinner.

I write that way because I try to keep my site a cheery little place.  (With occasional descents into self-pity; I don’t deny that.)  I want my readers to stop by for a little gentle conversation, a few recipe tips, and perhaps a few target photos.

That doesn’t mean I’m unaware of the fact that important things are happening out there.  It doesn’t mean I’m unaware that true evil exists in this world.

I don’t concentrate on it.  My site is more Laura Ingalls Wilder than Elie Wiesel; that style is more suited to my personality and my life experiences.

But that doesn’t mean I think the world revolves around me.  I know it doesn’t.

What brought this on?  I clicked through to an article with a truly graphic photograph of a victim of evil.  I don’t think I have a weak stomach but I literally fought to keep from throwing up.  And so I thought I’d state it for the record: Just because I write about my little bubble of a life doesn’t mean I’m unaware of the greater forces out there.  Good and evil both.

3 Responses to “I know I’m not that important”

  1. Borepatch said

    I like it that you blog about what you want. As do we all. “The same wax takes many different molds”.

  2. Jay G. said

    Hey, we like your free ice cream, okay?

    I blog about a lot going on in the world; I try to balance out teh STOOPID that is Massachusetts along with the hell-in-a-handbasket ride we’re taking as a nation (which, FTR, isn’t just due to Barry, although he’s certainly greasing the rails).

    One might get the impression that I’m angry about what’s going on. One would be right. I write about world events – and my rage- and invective- filled screeds reflect my growing sense of impotence to do anything about it. All I can do is stand on the sidelines and scream as we head towards the abyss.

    It’s nice to have a friendly, happy place I can visit where the real world is kept at bay by a friendly face.

    Who also happens to be very capable of shooting the hell out of anyone who messes with her or hers – and that’s aces in my book.

    (Plus you have a really cool new toy I am dying to try out…) 🙂

  3. secretlivesofscientists said

    Love you, Lissa!

Leave a Reply

 
