lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

There are none so blind . . .

Posted by Lissa on December 4, 2009

. . . as those whose power has gone out.

My timing was extraordinarily good yesterday; I had drunk my coffee, finished showering AND done my makeup before the blackness hit.  It wasn’t too bad inside the apartment; we’ve got two sliding doors in the living room that provided a decent amount of daylight.  We dug out flashlights and Mike shaved by candlelight (while I fluttered nearby and begged him not to cut himself).  Sure, I had to select an outfit with no ironing required, and we tried to keep the fridge closed as much as possible, but it wasn’t a big deal.

Getting OUT of the apartment, on the other hand . . . I opened the door and the hallway was completely black.  I snapped open my cell phone to light my way to the staircase, which was also completely pitch-black.  (So much for emergency lighting.  We learned later that the Kitty Den *does* have a backup generator.  Which did not click on.  Useful backup, there.)  I gingerly negotiated the stairs with a lit cellphone and a hand on the banister; thank goodness we live on the second floor.

Happily, the power went back on perhaps twenty minutes after I left, which meant that Mike was able to get the car out of the garage.

I know, I know, this post is extremely boring.  I don’t pretend otherwise.  I’m groggy and drinking coffee as fast as I can!  Late to bed and early to rise, makes a girl stupid and blind in the eyes . . .

5 Responses to “There are none so blind . . .”

  1. wolfwalker said

    I snapped open my cell phone to light my way to the staircase, which was also completely pitch-black.

    Um, no emergency flashlights? Really not a good idea. With LED tech, it’s easy to find cheap pocket-size flashlights that throw a lot of light. I have a couple that run off 4 AAA batteries and are more than bright enough to light a stairwell.

    • Mike said

      Oh we have those, but I needed them to light up the bathroom for my shower. And, as Lissa noted, we live on the second floor and in fact we’re right next to the stairway, so it wasn’t a big deal. And her cell phone does get pretty bright.

  2. I grew up with a blind Grandfather and (as I was a weird kid) spent a lot of time with a blindfold on to try to figure out how Granddad was able to do some of the things that you wouldn’t think a blind person could do. So I may not be a good example, but I usually don’t have a problem navigating places where I commonly go even in complete darkness (and I don’t bother with a mirror to shave either since I shave in the shower). I guess I have always taken it for granted that everyone can do this. I guess not.

    In a fun way, it’s like waking up and realizing that I have a SUPER POWER! FEAR ME o creatures of the night! Not much of a super power… Must be how aqua-man felt… “I can talk… to… fish…???”

    s

  3. You guys might want to talk to your building super.
    Stairways are required to be lit, power or no. Most emergency lights for stairwells are self-contained battery units; failure for them to function is a nasty infraction of most multi-dwelling laws.

    AND, as mentioned, get good flashlights!

  4. Jay G. said

    Lissa,

    Dunno if you guys have a BJ’s Warehouse membership, but I would suspect most warehouse-type stores have a similar deal.

    We found a three pack of Sylvania rechargeable flashlight/nightlight plug-in deals for like $10-$15. They’re great for the hallways in the house – the light given off is just enough to see one’s way to the bathroom without turning on other lights – and if the power goes out, the flashlight part turns on.

    It’s very inexpensive insurance against blackouts, and we always have a fully-charged flashlight available on either floor of the house.

    Just a thought…

Leave a Reply

 
