lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Library beauties

Posted by Lissa on September 15, 2009

No, I don’t mean pretty librarians, though I could name one or two 😉

Killing time before my first choir rehearsal yesterday, I found myself watching the sunset in the courtyard of the Boston Public Library.  If you’ve never been there, you’re missing out; the library’s huge, beautiful and full of books.  What’s not to like?  (Well, the metal detector at the front door perhaps, but that’s a topic for another day.)

Sitting there absorbing the breathtaking colors and majestic sky, I mused on technology and the passage of time.  Think on it . . . a few hundred years ago the only way to visually capture the scene would take several hours (at the least), expensive oil paints and canvas, and a level of talent that I most certainly do not possess.  Today?  All it takes is a decent point-and-shoot:

Library fountain

Library sky

Push a few buttons and change modes, and suddenly the scene looks entirely different:

Darkened library sunset

Darkened sky 2

A total of two minutes passed between that first picture and the last picture.  It’s not time-lapse; it’s all in the camera settings.  It’s kind of fabulous.

(And, I read the camera manual so I actually know how to CHANGE those settings — boo-yah!!)

3 Responses to “Library beauties”

  1. dogzard said

    One of the places I used to like to go, when I was with my GF in Cambridge, was the Elisabeth Stuart Gardner museum. Would be well worth the time spent there.

  2. Jay G. said

    Metal detectors, you say…

    [scratches BPL off list of places to visit]

    *sigh*

  3. Those are anti-theft devices not metal detectors.

    I’ll let you guess how I know ; ]

Leave a Reply

 
