lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Ammo bleg

Posted by Lissa on July 24, 2009

A week and just a few days ’til the Second Annual Northeast Blogger Shoot Meet & Shootin’ Spectacular, yippee!  VERY MUCH looking forward to it; I had a blast last year, and that’s when there still existed the remote possibility that I was going to meet a bunch of rootin’ tootin’ shootin’ hicks.  Now, of course, I know better — that mere possibility has bloomed into complete certainty of hanging out with rootin’ tootin’ shootin’ hicks.  (Said with ALL possible love, O Bloggy Friends!)

While I plan to bring a lot of the same equipment from last year — bug spray, camera, more bug spray, cookies, and extra bug spray — I’d also like to bring more actionable supplies, if I can.  Problem is, I can’t bring any boomsticks to this ‘do, and neither can I bring ammo; as a MA resident I don’t have a permit to own the stuff.  (Because bullets are DANGEROUS, you know, whether or not you actually have a gun.  I might decide to chew and swallow them one crazy night.)

If I assume that all the folks will be as courteous, generous, and crazy-nice about lending their toys this time around as they were last time (Weer’d Beard, Jay, and doubletrouble (and Mrs. Doubletrouble!), and Marko, and . . . oh hell, I’m looking at all of you) . . . d’ye think I’d be mostly shooting 9 mm and .22?

And if so, would anyone be wiling to pick me up a box or two of each?  I will gladly pay market price plus a finder’s fee so I don’t have to mooch off other people’s ammo as well as swipe their toys.  (Paid in actual cash, not in cookies.  Well, the finder’s fee might be paid in cookies.  Is anyone allergic to peanuts?)

Thoughts?

UPDATE: Thanks very much, Jay, that would be lovely 🙂

11 Responses to “Ammo bleg”

  1. Brad K. said

    Lissa,

    If the shoot isn’t in MA – could you stop at a Wal-Mart and pick up some ammo when you get to the local area, then donate leftovers to the hosts/cause?

    Or guess at what you need, and order online? Have them deliver to the bloggershoot (make arrangements so they expect delivery). If they want to deliver to a gun shop/license owner, contact the bloggershoot host and ask for a local referral. Or just contact the local referral, purchase over the phone for pickup when you get there or by the bloggershoot people waiting, patiently, for enough cookies to make the extra trip worth their while. (That is, at least half a dozen cookies. Two dozen might be over doing it by 2 or 3, but maybe not.)

    I suppose you could ask said referral gun shop about loaner or rental boomsticks?? Nah.

  2. Jay G. said

    Lissa,

    I’ll pick up a couple boxes of 9mm for you.

    Especially since there will be at least one machine gun present this year as well… 😉

    Also, take a look through my gun pics and see if there’s anything you’d like to try out.

    I’m going to post a proposed arms list early next week, so get the requests in!

    (And thanks for spreading the linky-love!)

  3. Jay G. said

    Oh, forgot to add: I’ll be bringing over a thousand rounds of .22LR with me; you’re more than welcome to have as much as you’d like. .22LR is still cheap enough to give away… 🙂

  4. mike w. said

    Wait, you need a permit to own ammo in Mass.? Damn.

    Have fun doin’ some shooting and bayonetting with Jay & the gang. I’m jealous.

    • secretlivesofscientists said

      Yup you do, and they take it way seriously. A friend of mine – a vermont resident – was pulled over and had a bag full of empty shotgun shells in his back seat. Since even empty shotgun shells constitute ammo (MA def: any PART of anything designed to be loaded and fired from a firearm), he got his face rubbed in asphalt.

  5. secretlivesofscientists said

    Lissa, see if you can shoot a .308 FAL or a socum. If you have the means, I hiiiiiiiighly recommend it. It is soooo choice.

  6. TOTWTYTR said

    I’ll bring an extra box or two of 9mm, just in case. I’ll also bring along some .38, since I’ll be bringing at least one revolver in that caliber.

    I’ll also be bringing along .22 revolvers and semi auto pistols and rifles. Lot’s o’ .22s, so I’ll bring lots of ammo.

    Plus an Enfield in .303.

    YOU bring cookies, lots of them. 🙂

  7. ZerCool said

    I wasn’t even sure I’d be there til yesterday, but now I am and I will be … I’ll have some extra of all my appropriate calibers – .22, .17, 9mm, .38, .44Spl, .45ACP, .223, and 12ga.

    I think if there’s something that really tickles your fancy it can be easily arranged. 🙂

    (And no, I’m not allergic to peanuts!)

    See y’all this weekend!

  8. Breda said

    I will implode with jealousy, I swear.

    (also? make pig candy. It’s a hit every time!)

  9. Went to the shop last night. Got some 9x19mm, some 7.62X39mm, and some .38 Special, as well as my home-brewed .38s .45s and .357s. And my never-ending supply of 7.62X54, and .22 LR.

    a good chunk of this stuff I think has your name on it : ]

    See ya soon!

    Arrrrr

Leave a Reply

 
