lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Bad grammar makes me [sic]

Posted by Lissa on July 14, 2009

In retrospect, I don’t know how I got the reputation as a grammatical hardass.  After all, I never formally learned English grammar.  It’s not like I can diagram a sentence.  And the only encounters I’ve had with the present perfect or the pluperfect were in Spanish class.

Regardless, I did somehow manage to acquire that reputation.  Thus the birthday card I received from the LilBros this weekend:

IMG_0614

Open it up to read:

IMG_0615

We passed it around the table and every single person at the table LOL’d.

Except my mom.  🙂

Thanks LilBros!  And to Jenny for all the birthday riches she gave me last month, and to Mom for cooking and baking up a storm, and to John for cleaning and painting before our arrival.  And to Mike, for not grumbling about the four hour drive.

I love my family.

5 Responses to “Bad grammar makes me [sic]”

  1. Brad K. said

    Isn’t the verb phrase still ended with a preposition?

    But then I have to wonder. If you have to *ask* where the pool party is, don’t you already have a clue as to whether you would be welcome? Hopefully both ladies were actually under the influence, and have more couth, respect, and character than this verbal exchange illuminates.

    I hope your birthday was joyful and rewarding in the company of friends and family.

    Blessed be!

  2. Jennifer said

    How funny! I almost bought that card too… 🙂

  3. Jon said

    Where, oh where, might one find this card for sale? I have at least 2 immediate uses for it at the moment.

  4. Borepatch said

    Um, Happy Birthday?

  5. Jennifer said

    I saw it in the Hallmark card section of my local Walgreens. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

 
