lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Too. Much. Pork. Die now. Die happy :)

Posted by Lissa on March 4, 2009

Thank you Breda

Delicious Pig

Here’s the strange thing — I actually don’t like pork very much.  I think pork loin tends to be very dry, and unless they’re in schnitzel-form pork chops don’t hold much interest either.  (I put ketchup on my schnitzel, not lemon.  You may all stop speaking to me now.  I’ll understand.) 

I’m also not terribly fond of barbecue sauce; I don’t dislike it, but I never seek it out.

And yet, somehow, through a mysterious and wonderful process of culinary alchemy, pulled pork is the food of the GODS, y’all.  Seriously.

Please note:

1) Yes, you really should use a whole bottle of barbecue sauce

2) Perhaps using fresh-baked bread for the sandwich was a poor idea.  I plan to pick up some hamburger rolls on the way home, as they will make a more correct-sized sandwich.  I way over-filled our sammiches last night and we literally almost died from a surfeit of deliciousness.  (And when I say “literally,” I mean “figuratively.”)

3)  LOTS.  OF.  LEFTOVERS.  Hooray!!

I give this recipe two very enthusiastic sauce-smudged thumbs-up, Breda 🙂

5 Responses to “Too. Much. Pork. Die now. Die happy :)”

  1. Ted said

    Two comments:

    1. Braise. Dried out Pork is an abomination to the Lord. Slow cooking in liquid give you tender, juicy, porky goodness.

    2. Rub. Don’t think there’s a good one for sale, and it’s easy enough to make your own. Brown sugar, salt, pepper, and the classified list of ingredients. I like paprika and Old Bay, but know people who use curry powder.

  2. secretlivesofscientists said

    But the fresh break looks sooooooo goooooooood. You should come down to Texas and show ’em that us Yanks have some damn skippy barbecue skills.

  3. Breda said

    I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  4. mts said

    My mother had moist pork roast due to her regular basting as it cooked in the oven, with tin foil on the Pyrex bowl to keep the moisture in. Plus, she cooked it with the fat flap on top, so it would go through the meat, and not settle on bottom. She’d poke holes and insert garlic cloves. That’s it; she didn’t doll it up with rubs or other spices like she’d do with beef or ham.

    p.s.: your sammich bread looks excellent!

  5. Stan said

    Anyone who would suggest that hamburger buns are better than homemade bread is a heretic and should be burned.

Leave a Reply

 
