lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

We interrupt this barrage of levity . . .

Posted by Lissa on January 9, 2009

. . . with a small interlude of gravitas.  If you’ve been enjoying the warm-and-fuzzy posts, please feel free to skip this one.

Ace replied recently to a comma about media bias, saying

“It does seem absurd to constantly bash the media. It is as pointless as arguing with glaciers.

But as futile as it is, it is simply too big a part of blogging/alt media to ever give up. . The media is, for better or worse (worse mostly), our principal vehicle for fact. Everyone relies up on it, even conservatives. It is too important to make sure they’re not lying and to point out when they are to “just deal with it and move on.”

There is also a catharsis aspect here. The media pisses people off, including myself. Part of the appeal of blogs and blog-commenting is the shout-at-the-tv aspect, that is, when you’re tired of shouting at the tv and want to say it “to the world,” as it were. That may be kind of an illusion itself, but is, for me and a lot of people, an appealing illusion.”  (end quoted response)

I have to admit there is a certain cringe factor in me, just out of the sheer numbing repetitiveness of it, when I write my sixty three billionth post on media bias. A lot of readers are probably less than thrilled to see a not-so-fresh addition to the ever-growing oevure.

Here’s my take: 

1) Easy blog fodder should never be turned down.  (Duh!)

2) This is an issue that NEEDS 63 billion posts.  Look, for every one person out there who is sick of the Name-That-Party game and rolls his/her eyes at ANOTHER media bias post, there are probably five who are like I was and DO NOT SEE the media bias at all.

As I’ve written before, I was a PoliSci major at Ye Olde Liberal Arts College.  I am quite confident that I spent more hours per day reading more different types of news sources than the average bear.  And I was NOT ABLE to see the blatant bias that was being fed to me, day after day, week after week, source after liberal MSM source.

That’s two reasons.

3) I have a half-remembered quote struggling on my keyboard; something to the effect of, “In the time it takes for the truth to come out, the lie has circulated a hundred times round the world already.”  Today’s example of that comes courtesy of LGF and Confederate Yankee; the backup quoted below is from LawHawk:

The video shows two men working over the body of a victim. One of the men giving chest compressions while the other fiddles with the monitor and appears to put EEG leads on the victim. They declare him dead.

If that was the end of the story, it would seem fishy enough, because you don’t give chest compressions to the victim’s abdomen as the guy on the right was doing. You also don’t fiddle with a monitor that isn’t hooked up to the victim although there’s several rough cuts in the video so that you can’t exactly tell the order of the footage.

And now CNN has sent the video down the memory hole without explanation.  I may be quite confident that it was a fake, every doctor or media or Ambulance Driver or CPR trainee may be quite confident it was a fake, but in the meantime CNN has broadcasted that damning video to the farthest corners of the earth.  It’s too late.  Without 24/7 apologies explaining exactly how they screwed up (snort), there are now millions of people who will accept this video as gospel truth. 

(For a stellar example, take a half hour and go through the Second Draft site about Mohammed Al-Durah.  When I first did I was gobsmacked, flabbergasted, horrified, shocked, disbelieving, incredulous and knocked on my ass.  Now I look at it cynically and think, Yeah, big surprise there.)

Because my awakening to media bias was such a huge part of my political conversion to The Dark Side (wink), I don’t think there CAN be enough documentation on this issue.  Remember, a lot of people on the leftward side of the spectrum think the media is overwhelmingly biased . . . . towards the RIGHT.

For those who don’t have a grasp of numbers or statistics, it’s important to give us as many examples as possible of media bias.  I don’t remember names, numbers, dates or sometimes even centuries, but I remember STORIES.  Keep the stories coming, so I can help do my part to combat MSM bias.

6 Responses to “We interrupt this barrage of levity . . .”

  1. totwtytr said

    What a brilliant and insightful post. Most people don’t consider it media bias because they agree with the bias and they themselves couldn’t possibly be biased. Being biased is the first cousin to being bigoted and heaven knows they couldn’t possibly be that.

    Which is why it’s acceptable to call a black Republican stupid, but if you do that to a black Democrat, you are a racist.

    Simple, huh?

    • Lissa said

      Thanks very much, TOTWTYTR! I was talking about this last night with Mike; my frustration and anger at the blatant and UNFAIR double standards are what drove me right-wards as much as anything else. Maybe more!

  2. Mike said

    http://www.economist.com/finance/displaystory.cfm?story_id=12510893

    An interesting take on media bias from the Economist. Perhaps most consumers of news from the “mainstream media” buy into it because it reflects their bias.

  3. wolfwalker said

    I have a half-remembered quote struggling on my keyboard; something to the effect of, “in the time it takes for the truth to come out, the lie has circulated a hundred times round the world already.”

    I think the quote you’re looking for is “a lie can travel halfway around the world before the truth gets its boots on.” Usually attributed to Mark Twain, but it may be older.

  4. Lissa said

    A ha! Thank you Wolfwalker, I do believe that it is.

  5. mike w. said

    “Now I look at it cynically and think, Yeah, big surprise there.)”

    Ah, you’ve grown so much.

    I too am a Poli Sci grad from a liberal college, but I was a lost cause for them since I’m naturally cynical.

Leave a Reply

 
