lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Those brilliant minds in Hollywood

Posted by Lissa on January 8, 2009

It’s a pity, because I like Justin Timberlake’s music; I’ve got a few of his songs on my workout playlist and they’ve got a great beat.  I really enjoyed that he got dumped on his ass by superstar Britney Spears and ended up whooping her booty in fame and hits.  I like Jessica Biel too — I loved her in Blade Trinity.  It’s a silly movie, sure, but she kicked SERIOUS ASS and looked oh-so-hot while doing it.  Plus, I thought the storyabout her breaking her contract with 7th Heaven was pretty funny.

That’s why I was saddened to read this brilliant, brilliant quote:

“Nobody should be able to say what you can do with your body,” Biel told cheering crowds at Last Chance for Change, a rally endorsing presidential candidate Sen. Barack Obama. “I give Jess the right to choose where we go to eat all the time,” Timberlake added.

Ohhhh, it makes my head hurt.

1) If you “give” her the right to choose the dinner venue . . . then it’s not a right she has, is it?  It’s a favor you’re granting her.  If she HAD the right to choose, she wouldn’t need you to GIVE it to her, capiche?

2) Ummmmmmmmm yeah.  You’re comparing the choice of a restaurant with the choice of having an abortion.  I would say “the mind boggles at such stupidity” . . . only it doesn’t.

Which is perhaps the saddest thing of all.

*sniff*  I don’t care, I don’t care!  You can’t make me take the Blade songs out of my workout mix!  You can’t stop me from dancing around pretend-kickboxing while I watch it!  (Which I only do when I’m alone, because, damn, if anyone saw me I could get committed to a round room with rubber walls for the next ten years or so.)

In fact — SO THERE, WORLD!!!

biel

biel1

biel2

P.S.  Yes, I *know* she’s no Ziva.  But we can’t all be Ziva, you know.

(h/t Michelle Malkin, though I doubt I took away what she intended)

5 Responses to “Those brilliant minds in Hollywood”

  1. Jay G. said

    Every time I hear that “keep your laws off my body” I reflexively respond, “As soon as you keep your laws out of my gun cabinet”…

  2. Brad K. said

    Lissa, you could be optimistic, and consider that neither of them do much thinking that isn’t scripted. Then a slightly different emphasis might make this look like a weak joke, rather than an expression of “all that he could be”.

    As in, “I give her control” of the conversation; I give in ’cause she is smarter and usually righter, so I don’t have anything to say if she already knows what is right.

    And, “let her pick where to eat” is just weak. As a joke, it implies that he doesn’t contest her decisions in the large or small things. Or maybe abortion hasn’t come up, and the last argument on his mind is – “Not McDonald’s Again!”. Perhaps all they need is to sign up for the RSS feed at Loving Annie’s Travel Treasures! Then the mundane stuff wouldn’t obscure the important things. Maybe?

  3. Brad_in_MA said

    Jay,

    Perhaps you should change your tone a bit . . . keep your laws off my gun cabinets !!!

  4. Ahab said

    I love that movie – it’s 1) hilarious, and 2) jessica biel.

    Seriously it should be called “Van Wilder, Vampire Slayer”.

Leave a Reply

 
