lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Something is very, very wrong here

Posted by Lissa on January 6, 2009

JACKSON, OhioPolice say an angry 4-year-old Ohio boy grabbed a gun from a closet and shot his baby sitter. Nathan Beavers, 18, was hospitalized Sunday with minor wounds to his arm and side after the shotgun attack. Police say another teen was also injured.

Witnesses told police the child was angry because Beavers accidentally stepped on his foot. Beavers was watching the child at a mobile home in Jackson with several other teenagers and several other children.

This story smells of serious B.S. to me, but I’ll leave it to the real Gun Nuts to expostulate on all the Gun Safety Fails that (apparently) took place.

8 Responses to “Something is very, very wrong here”

  1. Brad K. said

    Lissa,

    Usually what the press calls a “mobile home” isn’t that large. If someone in a mobile home needs a shotgun, it won’t do much good locked away. “When seconds count, the police are just minutes away.”

    When you get several teens, several other kids – that is crowded, in what is called a “mobile home”. If the teen was babysitting – that gets to be an iffy environment. It might be reasonable, but more likely, there wasn’t enough supervision at any level.

    And a four year old, living in a tough environment, may be entirely capable of enough rage to deliberately shoot someone. Most of us think of four year old kids with responsible parents that actually teach discipline and other social skills. Not all kids are that fortunate. I have a cousin with some developmental challenges that apparently went off, and went after his baby sitter with a butcher knife. That ended well enough, I guess, but rage issues do happen, and not all kids are easy to manage, or parents skilled at meeting all their kids’ needs.

    And whatever else, I would be looking at problems with the four year old. I am told that the basic personality is formed at age four. Anyone acting out this violently at that age has serious, serious issues. His home environment may be bad, the circumstances maybe actually warrant using a gun to defend himself. His parent may have trained him to shoot when in fear or doubt. But there are still issues.

  2. Alan said

    I bet we’re not getting the full story. There’s all kinds of wrong going on there.

  3. secretlivesofscientists said

    I think a gun safe is a reasonable expectation for anyone with a kid, mobile home or not, or at least have the closet locked when an adult is not supervising a child. Boyfriend’s gun safe holds close to 20 guns and fits in his small closet. I keep my Sig locked in a small safe when I’m not home or not carrying.

    Other than that, very fucked up, and totally the parent’s fault, imo. I plan on teaching my kid to shoot, but probably not until they are at least 8. I’m not saying that younger children aren’t capable of learning to shoot, but I think you have to wait until the personality starts developing. Personality will play a big role in when and how I teach my (future) kids on the range.

    Chalk it up to the Darwin effect.

  4. Jeff said

    I agree on not getting the full story. I’ll defer to people with kids here, but my gut tells me that a 4 year old wouldn’t be able to cycle the action on a shotgun. In fact could a typical 4 year old even hold an aim a shotgun other than one of those little Rossi .410s?

  5. Sevesteen said

    If I were to bet on the circumstances of this shooting, I’d want at least 3-1 odds before I’d put my money on the story being close to what is reported. Usually when initial reports have a very young child shooting someone, he is actually getting blamed for the actions of someone older.

  6. Sevesteen said

    I just read another account of this. The shotgun was a single-shot .410, probably within the physical capabilities of a 4 year old.

    And in the comments on yet another version:

    “I have known Nathan Beavers for af few years now and I am more shocked that anyone would let him watch a child” ( http://www.digitaljournal.com/article/264647#tab=comments&sc=1310778 )

    So maybe it was the child, but I still wouldn’t bet even money on it.

  7. totwtytr said

    I remain unconvinced that a four year old did this. I’d think it far more likely that one of the “youts” was horsing around with the shotgun and fired it.

  8. Lissa said

    Glad I’m not the only one who didn’t think it passed the smell test . . .

Leave a Reply

 
