lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Bad dog!!

Posted by Lissa on November 24, 2008

Those of you who own shotguns . . . . tell me, is this normal?

Marcum says his son, Matthew, was standing in Tillamook Bay at the start of duck-hunting trip when his dog jumped into the boat, setting off a 12-gauge shotgun.

The blast blew a hole in the aluminum boat before hitting Marcum, who is recovering from injuries to his legs and buttocks at Portland’s Legacy Emanuel Hospital.

At first blush I’d think something went very wrong with gun safety there, but having never gone hunting nor toting shotguns about, I really don’t know.  Educate me, my minions!

(h/t Don Surber)

6 Responses to “Bad dog!!”

  1. Marko said

    That’s not normal, that’s just a moron who chambered a round in his shotgun and then put a hot weapon into his boat.

    If the rifle or shotgun is going to leave your hands, even if it’s just to sling the gun across your back while you hop a fence, you unload the chamber. Ideally, you don’t chamber a round until you’re ready to shoot.

    Like you correctly surmised: poor gun safety.

  2. Jay G. said

    I believe it would be a violation of Rule Two: Never point your firearm at anything you’re not ready to shoot.

    To wit, his own arse…

  3. Jeff said

    He at least should have put the safety on, but Marko is right, unloading is the correct way. I don’t hunt, so those safety proceedures aren’t ingrained in me. My only shotgun so far is used only at the range, so I only load it when I’m about to shoot, so I’ve never used the safety. In fact, I haven’t yet ever loaded more than one round. I really need to shoot some sporting clays.

    If I get a shotgun for home defense, it’d probably be stored at ‘cruiser ready’ ie full magazine, empty chamber, hammer down, safety off.

  4. Ted said

    Let’s play the “How many of the Four Rules did he violate” game!

    Lessee:

    1. Guns are always loaded (so act accordingly). Ching!

    2. Never point the muzzle at anything you’re not ready to put a hole in (examples: boat hulls, buttocks, etc). Ching!

    3. Keep your finger off the trigger until the sights are alligned on the target. Ching!

    4. Be sure of your target and what’s behind it. Wait a minute … Judges, what’s your ruling? Ching!

    I’d say it was a Trifecta, but it looks like he got all four. A Quadfecta?

  5. Hank said

    Hmmm. If you ask me, I’d say they never taught the dog the Four Rules.

  6. totwtytr said

    This is COMPLETELY NORMAL! Well, as long as your name is Moe, Larry, or Curly. And one of you shoots a second hole in the boat to let the water out.

    Five minutes in.

Leave a Reply

 
