lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Hate crime?

Posted by Lissa on November 4, 2008

Well, it’s a crime against a despised minority, namely, a politician.  So couldn’t that be a hate crime?

Nope.  Prank by a scumbucket whom I hope goes to jail, but it should matter no more or less than if the scumbucket had done this to your next-door neighbor:

Florida Congressional candidate Eddie Adams Jr. (R) was admitted to Tampa General Hospital Sunday suffering from severe burns on the hands and arms. He will be undergoing additional skin grafts Tuesday.

A vandal tied a mattress to the underside of Mr. Adams pick-up truck. Friction with the road, and contact with the catalytic converter combined to ignite the bedding.

I don’t believe in special penalties for attacks against politicians (see my comment to this post) any more than I believe in special speech for pols or exemption from the law.  A crime’s a crime.  Bust the vandal and book him, please.  (Or her.  Whatever.)

(H/t Ace, who points out that the pol is, in fact, a black man.  If that matters.  I point it out merely because 1) I started with a rhetorical question about hate crimes, 2) I think that, if he were a Democrat politician, his race would have been played up.  It does not matter to me. To repeat:  A crime’s a crime.  Bust the vandal, please.)

2 Responses to “Hate crime?”

  1. Brad K said

    That is one sick and twisted attack. I wish Mr. Adams a full and speedy recovery.

    Even though I know there is no such thing, for burns and for unwarranted attacks.

  2. […] Hate crime? By Lissa I don?t believe in special penalties for attacks against politicians (see my comment to this post) any more than I believe in special speech for pols or exemption from the law. A crime?sa crime. Bust the vandal and book him, please. … lookingforlissa – https://lookingforlissa.wordpress.com/ […]

Leave a Reply

 
