lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

With friends/advocates like these . . .

Posted by Lissa on September 9, 2008

What a lovely, charming woman this author makes herself out to be:

It’s possible that Republican men, sexual inadequates that they are, really believe that women will vote for a woman just because she’s a woman. [snip]

But do they not know that women have been trained to resent other women and that they only learn to suppress this by constantly berating themselves and reading columns like this one? I’m a feminist who understands that women can nurse terrible and delicate woman hatred.

It sounds like satire, but it’s not.  Since I haven’t been reading her columns, I suppose I’m still trained to resent other women.  I sure don’t like Heather Mallick so far. 

Here’s the funny thing though: in the same article, she can write,

White trash — not trailer trash, that’s something different — is rural, loud, proudly unlettered (like Bush himself), suspicious of the urban, frankly disbelieving of the foreign, and a fan of the American cliché of authenticity. The semiotics are pure Palin: a sturdy body, clothes that are clinging yet boxy and a voice that could peel the plastic seal off your new microwave.

as well as (trying to figure out why the RNC cheered Palin),

Is it racism? I’m told that it is, although I find racism so appalling that I have difficulty identifying it.

Does that seem like cognitive dissonance to anyone else?  I speak (well, write) of the fact that she can spout vicious disgust at a group of people whose identification includes their skin color, and then turn around and pronounce herself horrified at racism.  (I also find it curious that she finds racism “so appalling” that she has “difficulty identifying it.”  Most folks I know who find racism appalling are pretty quick — maybe overly quick sometimes — to identify it.)

She also included this gem in her opening paragraph:

She added nothing to the ticket that the Republicans didn’t already have sewn up, the white trash vote, the demographic that sullies America’s name inside and outside its borders yet has such a curious appeal for the right.

Can anyone explain to me how her seeming hatred of “white trash” differs from racism? 

Ms. Mallick, you don’t speak for all women.  (I don’t either, of course, but this IS my blog, so I get to speak for ME at least.)  I don’t need your column to teach me how NOT to hate women.  I don’t need you to educate me about or protect me from those ooo-scary bastardizations of the human race, “white trash” (a.k.a rednecks).  Women like you give the rest of us a bad name.  Do us all a favor and treat Palin like you would treat a man, or like you would treat a woman with whose positions you agreed; in other words, like a human being. 

That goes for “white trash” and Republicans, too.

(P.S.  If anyone proves to me the article was meant as satire, I will happily eat crow all over this blog.  I’d much rather that be the case than the fact that this column was written seriously, which it appears to be.)

(h/t Hot Air)

5 Responses to “With friends/advocates like these . . .”

  1. Em said

    Just read that article. I like this part:
    “But surely they know Barack Obama is not planning to finish off the ordinary hillbilly when he adjusts tax rates. He’s going to raise taxes on the top 2% of Americans and that doesn’t include anyone at the convention beyond the Bushes and McCains and random party management. So why cheer Palin when she claims otherwise?

    Is it racism? I’m told that it is, although I find racism so appalling that I have difficulty identifying it. It is more likely the dearly held Republican notion that any American can become violently rich, as rich as those hedge funders in Greenwich, Conn., who buy $40-million mansions unseen and have their topiary shaped in the form of musical notes.”

    huh. The fact that so many people think that the wealthiest 2 percent are multimillionaires across the board. Barack Obama makes 300K, and that puts him in the top three percent. That shit is funny to me, but it really seems to irk a lot of democrats (e.g. my loving family members) when I point out to them that they’re probably – at least – in the wealthiest 25%. Not only that, most of their friends and neighbors in amherst are probably in the top 10%. D’ya pay any taxes? I mean, do you get a tax refund that is any percentage less than a full refund (because a full refund would mean NOT paying taxes)? Because if you pay taxes, congratulation, you’re in the wealthiest 50%. I am in the wealthiest 50%, and I barely scrape by.

    Sorry for the rant. but yeah man, what a self-righteous b****.
    ooh, and look at that! I didn’t capitalize some letters back there. I guess that makes me white trash.
    😉

  2. lookingforlissa said

    No, no, sweetie, you’re not white trash. You’re part Filipina, so that makes you a race traitor. Do keep that straight. 🙂

  3. Ted said

    Lissa, you’re racist. And sexist.

    Just sayin’. It’s all about the semiotics.

    😉

  4. totwtytr said

    Mallick, like many on the left just can’t understand how people can vote for someone who didn’t go to an Ivy League school and actually did something useful before they got into politics.

    Nor can she even conceive that a lot of people, maybe even the majority of people, in the US totally reject the guilt ridden, self hating, mea culpa, culture of the left.

    Once again, the left will lose an election not because they didn’t get their message out to the voters, but because they DID and the voters didn’t like the message.

    To the left, this just means that the voters are stupid, so they insult what they don’t understand.

  5. […] Looking for Lisa and Rachel Lucas both picked up on the attack Ms. Mallick makes on the McCain/Palin candidacy. […]

Leave a Reply

 
