lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Fun with False Labor

Posted by Lissa on October 11, 2012

I trooped along to my weekly doctor appointment yesterday evening and he, um, had his way with me. I’d say he went a bit far for a first date, but then again I’ve been seeing him since February, so it’s not as hoydenish as you might think.

And then I spent the rest of the evening having contractions and trying not to freak out.

I mean, I’m not due until Tuesday, I’m not having weird nesting urges or bursts or energy or backaches, and the doctor had JUST examined me and nothing was imminent. So it was definitely false labor and Braxton-Hicks contractions.

Right?

The only thing is, I *kept* having contractions. As in every five minutes or so, sometimes less. They weren’t PAINFUL contractions . . . and they weren’t increasing in strength . . . so I reminded myself that it wasn’t real labor and went on tidying the kitchen.

That pretty much continued all evening. And my sleep is very interrupted nowadays anyway, but I do recall waking up for a few more of them.

But this morning they seem to have calmed down, and I didn’t wake up to a soaked bed or anything. So I think I’m good for another few days.

I really do have to make the guest room ready, though, because for a while I thought last night might be It.

Give me a few more days, BabyKitty, and then everything will be prepared!

6 Responses to “Fun with False Labor”

  1. Brad Kruse said

    You know, with horses if the Momma delivers a few days early or later than the average, she usually continues to deliver a few days early or later than average with each delivery. And so does her daughter. Have you checked with your mother about whether you were early or late? Just wondering . .

    Blessed be!

  2. JD said

    You know it don’t count as a pregnancy if you don’t have a few false 3 am trips to the hospital. . . just saying. . . did it with all 3 of our kids. . . .

  3. So excited for you! Hang in there, parenthood is nothing if not flying around by the seat of your pants. ;)

  4. Not to contradict Brad, but #1 child was in no rush to be born, while #2 was born 15 minutes after we arrived at the hospital. Generally, the more babies a woman has the faster the labor. I delivered a woman’s 7th child years ago, that labor lasted about 20 minutes from her first contraction until the baby was born. The baby comes when the baby is ready, it’s that simple.

  5. Brad Kruse said

    @ Too Old To Work,

    I was thinking about the estimated “finish” date for full term. I do realize that the period of labor, as opposed to the period of gestation, tends to shorten with succeeding births.

  6. B said

    I wish you a fast labor. I had weeks of BH…

    thinking of you, mike and babykitty…

    B

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

