lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

College reunion

Posted by Lissa on June 13, 2012

Good morning everyone! Thank you for the birthday wishes! I can’t decide if it feels like I’ve been blogging a lot longer than four years, or if my mind should boggle that I’ve actually kept it going that long.

It was a busy, busy weekend! We flew out to North Carolina for the ten year reunion of Ye Olde Liberal Arts College. The trip was enjoyable, but not really because of any of the reunion events. I’d debated whether to go back to YOLAC last month for my beloved choir conductor’s retirement party, or whether to go in June for reunion. A number of people I wanted to see intended to go in June so I reluctantly sent best wishes to the May event and bought tickets for June. As it turned out, 1) many of those people ended up not coming; 2) the people that I really loved seeing live in NC and I could have seen if I’d gone in May. Oh well — spilled milk, hindsight, etc. etc.

The campus was as beautiful as ever (minus the orange construction barriers in various locations). I admit to some serious confusion at two dorms that I *swear* just weren’t there when I was in school! . . . . which, as it turns out, is true; they’re being constructed to look as weathered as all the other buildings, but they’re brand-new. Two points for not hallucinating!

I said hi to a lot of people that I remembered from a decade ago. Most people haven’t changed… I’ve been told that only people who gain or lose a lot of weight will really look different, and that seems to be the case. I don’t think I look very different from 2002, myself. Except that now I dress better :)

Getting home was a giant pain in the rear, as our flight from Atlanta to Charlotte had to taxi back from the runway when the hydraulic control went down. They sat us there for a few hours while they tried to fix it. When that didn’t work, they dumped us off the plane … at two hours and fifty-five minutes. Coincidentally, that’s five minutes before they would have had to pay big ol’ fines for keeping us stranded for so long. Isn’t it funny how that works? :) In the end, our flight left 7.5 hours late, we got home at 12:30 A.M. instead of late afternoon, and work the next day was really, really fun. Really.

I’m so glad to be home!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

