lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Yard sign!

Posted by Lissa on September 26, 2011

From a work colleague in Georgia …

From a guy in Texas :

My neighbor is a “lefty” of sorts (Obama bumper
stickers, gung-ho socialized medicine, “guns should
be banned”, etc.). So this past spring I put this sign
up in my yard after one of his anti-gun rants at a
neighborhood cocktail party.

The sign wasn’t up more than an hour before he
called the police and wanted them to make me take
down the sign. Fortunately, the officer politely
informed him that it was not their job to take such
action without a court order and that he had to file a
complaint “downtown” first, which would be reviewed
by the city attorney to see if it violated any city,
county, or state ordinances, which if there was a
violation a court order would be sent to the offending
party (me) to “remove the sign in seven days.”

After several weeks he was informed that the sign
was legal (by a quarter of an inch) and there was
nothing the city could do, which obviously made
him madder.
I tried to smooth things over by inviting him to go
shooting with me and my friends at the hunt club
but that seemed to make him even more angry.
I am at a loss how to reconcile our long relationship
(notice I did not say friendship), any suggestions
would be welcome.

20110926-081435.jpg

11 Responses to “Yard sign!”

  1. Mike said

    While I do love the sentiment, this obviously never really happened (and probably would be deemed illegal)!

  2. Amy said

    It’s probably true and legal here in TX. I was having trouble with my daughter’s ex threatening her and when the officer came out he noticed the shotguns leaning up against the wall by the door. He asked me if I knew what the “castle law” was? Yes sir I sure did. The county cop told me just to make sure that if I exorcised my rights under said law to make sure I “didn’t shoot anyone in the back”.

    Life in TX…. Isn’t it grand? LOL

    • Mike said

      I don’t doubt the sentiment exists and that people would find it funny, but the sign appears to have been edited with Photoshop or similar.

  3. Why would that sign be illegal? It would seem to be protected speech under that First Amendment that liberals profess to love so much. It’s really no different than any other political lawn sign. Which one small town near the former Lissaville once tried to ban only to be told by a judge that even the Board of Idiots, I mean, Selectpeople. had to follow the Constitution.

    • Mike said

      One could argue that such a sign is an incitement, which isn’t protected speech. I’m hardly a liberal and I love the First Amendment, but it has never been regarded as absolute and unconditional.

  4. momiss said

    RIGHT ON!! LOL

  5. guffaw said

    (LOUD, UPROARIOUS LAUGHTER ENSUED!)

  6. Brad Kruse said

    Crimes committed against a neighbor diminish the community and the neighborhood. Posting a sign like this is at least rude, and borders on terrorism, the use of the threat of force, damage, or injury, to effect social change.

  7. “Borders on terrorism”? Please, Brad, “the threat of force, damage, or injury, to effect social change” is a staple for the more liberal part of the country – as is your mudslinging, amigo.

    • Brad Kruse said

      That might be. I still think that the use of indirect threat is akin to shooting in the back. There is little personal responsibility for the harm that is invited, the issue in dispute is personal, yet has been escalated to invite unsavory persons to effect your revenge. All in all, this is pretty irresponsible. It damages the neighborhood and community. If I had to vote for one or the other to kick off the “island”, it would have to be the one with the sign.

      And I do understand that the FBI has tracked states and communities that embrace gun ownership, concealed carry, and homeowner arms, and have tracked the universal decline in violent crimes. I firmly believe that an armed society is a polite society. In a just society, someone would be able to communicate to the sign wielder just why the law decries “depraved indifference” and why he/she might be wary of that phrase.

  8. [...] has an awesome story and picture up.  I happen to think the picture is ‘shopped, but its funny [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

