lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

TIRED. So. Tired.

Posted by Lissa on February 23, 2011

*cue the siren of the Wahhhhhmmmbulance*

Ugh.  This is rather a tough week for Lissa.  I mean, I knew it would be an adjustment to go back to work full-time.  I expected the mid-afternoon fatigue. I’m learning to like the drive and honing my highway-rush-hour-skills.

But I’m exhausted. I drove home yesterday and threw together a hasty dinner (thank you, Crockpot, for making me delicious Mexican chicken!*), gobbled it down, unloaded the dishwasher and did the dishes, then spent just under three hours preparing for my Developmental Psychology test tonight. Meanwhile, I haven’t opened the box with the skeleton, my floors really need to be vacuumed, my bathroom is crying “Clean me!  Clean me!!” and I owe someone in MA a thank-you card.

I know, I know.  I want cheese with my whine!  But seriously — I *know* a lot of y’all are busier than I am.  I know that you’ve done what I’m doing, only with kids added into the mix.  Soooooo . . . any helpful tips, dear readers? Please?  How have you managed to organize/juggle all the things that you need done while not dying from lack of sleep???

11 Responses to “TIRED. So. Tired.”

  1. Amy said

    This is our busy time (baseball season) and my crock pot is a life saver for me. I’ve got some 5 min throw together things that I throw in there for easy meals. Clorox clean up wipes are life savers too for quick clean ups. (or easy bathroom wipe downs)

    You’ll get used to it and find your own little ways organize things so you can make things more time efficient

  2. At the risk of giving you one more thing to do, please be sure to take some time for you. You are not only pushing your body, but your mind as well. If you find some kind of outlet for your mind, it will help with the rest for your body. That way you make the most of the sleep you are getting. Moreover, your mind will be sharper when you do tackle the studying.

  3. ZerCool said

    In my own experience, *making the time for sleep* is what makes everything else possible. I need 7-8 hours of good sleep regularly. I can certainly handle a short night now and again, but more than a couple in a short time and I’m going to start making mistakes.

    A small snack mid morning and mid-afternoon helps me keep going as well.

    Routine helps tremendously too. My day almost always looks like:
    0500 – alarm goes off. Get up, put dog out, feed cats, feed dog, take ashes out, fill stove, start coffee, make lunch
    0530 – shower, dress
    0550 – breakfast, bring dog in
    0605 – leave for work
    0650 – arrive at work, having dropped off MrsZ along the way
    1000 – small snack
    1200 – lunch
    1505 – gym
    1545 – pick up MrsZ, head home
    1630 – home, thawing out dinner
    (various chores and maintenance things)
    1800 – dinner
    (read, movie, more work around house, as needed)
    2100 – into bed
    2130 – lights out

  4. bluesun said

    Find a good sleep schedule and STICK TO IT. It really helped me to get up at the same time every day (yes, even days that you went to bed really late). The tendency is to get up early for classes one day, then the next day you sleep till noon, and this just screws up your internal clock and makes things worse.

  5. Dave said

    It would only help with one thing, but I really love my Roomba!

  6. You probably al

    (sorry, had to dump Joe the Cat off of my keyboard)

    ready figured this out in college, but in addition to getting enough sleep, you need to get the right amount of sleep, which are not always the same things. Depending on your own rhythm you may function better on 6 hours of sleep vs. 7, or 5 vs 6, etc. Basically, you don’t want to wake up during a REM cycle else you’ll drag all day. So if you don’t know your current rhythm, try different amounts of sleep for a while.

  7. B said

    It will get better, you just out of shape for work!

  8. From a married (wife a full-time student) father of two who spent last winter working full-time midnights while taking an EMT-B course, and spends this winter working 6 midnights a week at one job, with his day/night off on call with another:

    1. You can get a nice electric pressure cooker relatively inexpensively. On nights I am too harried to even bother with a crock pot, the pressure cooker is a God-send.

    2. Don’t put off study. One moment of “meh, later” will back you up big time.

    3. Keep extra bottles of water and snacks in the car. You will get to work/class at some point and realize that you forgot your drink/lunch.

    4. As has been said, don’t skimp on sleep. Not just for work, but fatigue makes people a dink in daily life. My wife likes me far better when I can get four hours or so a night.

    5. Keep your sense of humor. Hard work/not enough sleep make most people start taking everything literally. Not great for ye olde blood pressure when you keep getting mad or wound up over simple jokes.

  9. Sarah said

    I don’t know why everyone who commented before me insists on making life hard.

    Just win the lottery. There. Problems solved.

    Oh…you wanted feasible, real-world suggestions? :)

    People have already covered sleep, so I’ll mention diet. When I eat basically healthful food, I feel better, so I’m more motivated to get stuff done. But when I live on McDonald’s and microwavable pizza, everything suffers, including sleep.

  10. It’s not easy. Paramedic school was a year of full time class days, full time work evenings, and parenting. All of which forced me to become organized for the first time in my life. I had to schedule out just about every hour of my day. You’ll be able to do the same thing and before you know it you’ll be done and say, “Wow, that sucked, but it’s over.”

  11. David said

    My wife says sleep is for the weak. For the most part we haven’t had a real nights sleep in six years. Between kids and work, there just isn’t time to get more than one good night every week or two. There’s plenty of time for that when your dead I guess… Seriously, eating well and a good night sleep are the key to maintaining sanity. Excercise is a big plus also..

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

