lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

New Gun Acquisition: Meet Kevin

Posted by Lissa on November 9, 2010

He’s pleased to meet you!

I wasn’t sure, when I finally managed to get my grubby little paws on a Smith & Wesson Bodyguard 380, whether it would be a Whitney or a Kevin.  Having finally taken it shooting, however, there’s no doubt in my mind: He’s Kevin.

He’s very unostentatious in his carriage.

He’s not shiny or flashy or diva-licious.

He quietly, neutrally, without any expression gets the job done.

Unemotional, flat, and taciturn – just like Kevin Costner in, oh, EVERY movie. ;-)

We first took him shooting this past Sunday.   I will freely admit that shooting him is a very different experience than shooting Siguette – after about 60 rounds with Kevin my wrist was aching, my finger was sore, and my right hand was quivering slightly.  (In comparison, I ran about 250 rounds through Siguette in each of the Sig classes with little or no ill effects.)  Also, I had some trouble seating the magazines until I realized that I had to press the mag release button while inserting them; after that I had no further difficulty.

But that’s the trade off for a Bodyguard and its relatives: You trade comfort of shooting, and perhaps some accuracy, for the light weight and the ability to conceal it in your waistband. Though I must say: For such a little (and light!) gun, the sights are just dead on.  Not to mention the laser!  I took it back to the range to finish breaking it in; here’s how we did (at seven yards):

18 in body using sights, then laser-sighting in head

As you can see, my laser-sighted shots tend to be a bit high and right.  I’m not sure whether the lasers are slightly off or if I’m jerking the shots.  I’m not used to lasers so there’s a definitely possibility that my form was the culprit.  (And this is, of course, why we aim center-mass!)

Perhaps because I was expecting it, the second day at the range didn’t cause the trembling or achiness that the first day did.  Here’s how we ended up:

Last 16 shots - half laser, half sighted

All in all, I’m VERY pleased with the Bodyguard! The sights are accurate, the shape and weight allow waistband concealment — something that the Kahr PM9, pretty much the smallest gun legal in MA, could not do — and it’s easy to field-strip.  Happy Lissa does the Happy Dance!

P.S. We’re using fairly cheap 380 FMJ ammo.  Downside: It sometimes takes more than one pull to touch off the primer.  Upside: When that happens, it forces you to concentrate on a smooth trigger-pull — if the gun jerked but no bullet went bang, you know you’re yanking it!  Upside X2: It only happens with the cheap target ammo, never on the expensive hollowpoints, so I’m not worried about it happening anywhere besides the range.

17 Responses to “New Gun Acquisition: Meet Kevin”

  1. What I want to know is how it stacks up against your Kahr PM9 (and what name did you give that one?)

    • Lissa said

      I’d say Kevin is a little easier and more pleasant to shoot, as well as more concealable, than was Kahr-oline. But, of course, that’s because I’m giving up the nine mm bullets for 380.

  2. Butch Cassidy said

    Nice little pocket rocket, and even better shooting.

    There must be some kind of bug going around, I went shooting the other day with a couple who just bought an LCP for the girlfriend. She adores the little bugger.

    Do you know how the sights compare to those on an LCP or P3AT?

    • Lissa said

      Why thanks! Um, I’m not sure how the sights compare since I haven’t shot very many 380s . . . are you asking about accuracy? Or the physical sight setup?

      • Butch Cassidy said

        Physical set up, I was wondering if you had a chance to handle both. No bodyguards in my neck of the woods yet, so I haven’t been able to compare.

    • Mike said

      The sights are far, far better on the Bodyguard. They are a sight arrangement, but no dots. Imagine the sights on a bigger pistol (like a Sig or M&P), but make them plain black with no markings. Not ideal, but way more useful than the LCP’s sights, especially when you consider the laser is integral to the frame.

  3. Jay G. said

    WANT!!! They’re allegedly going to be MA-compliant. I may have to invest in one…

    • Mike said

      It has a safety, making the trigger pull force irrelevant, and a little witness hole as a loaded chamber indicator (the same as they have for the M&P and that Sig uses for their MA-compliant models), so there doesn’t seem to be much in the way of it. If they pay the money for the official tests, I don’t see why it wouldn’t qualify.

  4. Butch I’d imagine the bodyguard sights provide a little larger sight picture, as the LCPs use a cut-out in the slide for the rear sight block and a front post. I don’t think anybody will make pocket-gun sights are HORRIBLE as the old guns were (I have a Colt 1908 .25 where the sights are practically in Braille), but if your eyesight isn’t great, possibly the bodyguard might make a slight difference. One big plus is if you want a laser, the Bodyguard’s is built-in, rather than being an add-on component, so its a LOT more streamlined than an LCP with the laser clamped onto the trigger guard.

    I’d still prefer the added get-up-and-go of a 9x19mm (or a pocket .45…Kahr PM45 I want you sooooo!!!) but then again, I think shooting my hoppin’ .357 handloads out of Jay’s 12oz J-frame is a HOOT….so I guess I ain’t normal. Maybe that’s why people call me “Weer’d”….

  5. MaddMedic said

    Hmmmm
    Sometime in the future.
    Maybe.
    My Kahr CW9 and Galco IWB work just fine.
    But..
    Kevin is a good choice!! Thats the one I was labeled with so many years ago.
    But Kevin Costner??

  6. Wohoooo for new guns! I just put a Bersa Firestorm on layaway for the wife (her choice). Seems like the .380 is the new black. It goes with everything!

  7. mike w. said

    Good shootin’ & congrats on the new gun!

  8. [...] It is almost a month old post – but somehow I missed it and just saw it for the first time. Lissa got herself a shiny Smith and Wesson Bodyguard 380, takes some pictures, and shows us the results. Go check it [...]

  9. JP said

    I just got one of these yesterday.. FINALLY!

    I’ll hopefully get it out to the range this coming weekend.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

