lookingforlissa

Escape your life for a little while — come play in mine.

Ode to a Blue Gun, with apologies to Keats

Posted by Lissa on September 23, 2010

Jay G waxed poetical over at his place:

Blue gun, blue gun, resting on the shelf;
Shall I use you to test my draw, a race against myself?
Perhaps you’ll teach a new shooter a proper grip and stance;
Or perhaps test an accessory, to give a better chance.
Revolvers, pistols, shotguns, even bayonets all have a form of you;
Bringing new meaning to the term “tangled up in blue”.

He addded, “Okay, so poetry ain’t my strong point…”

Well, I *do* claim to be good at poetry spoofs, so I offered the following in his comments:

Thou still unravish’d bride of quiet draws,
Thou foster-child of plastic and gun molds,
Raging gunnie, who canst thus express
The 4 Rules more sweetly than with pictures:
What powder-fring’d legend haunt about thy shape
Of Sigs or Glocks, or of both
In M&P or the dales of 1911s?
What levers or safeties are these? What mag release?
What practice draws? What struggle to retain in combat?
What bells and whisles? What wild ecstasy?

Who else loves their blue gun?  :)

2 Responses to “Ode to a Blue Gun, with apologies to Keats”

  1. To me, blue guns are useful for wet-molding leather holsters (hand sewing leather holsters is a hobby of mine). I don’t use them for training (with the exception of gun retention training, and that is more to keep accidental damage from happening to the “real” guns, not so much for “safety”). The reason I do this is because people can’t help but see a blue gun as a toy. I believe this is counter-productive. When I am teaching a new shooter, I want it in their mind that this is a REAL gun. If they violate a rule, there is no mental “but it’s just a toy” possible. That way, with practice, following the 4 rules becomes automatic.

    That said, I am a stickler that there be NO AMMO in my training area, the guns are all double checked (and are continuously checked during training), and the 4 rules still apply. The 4 rules always apply.

    I am not a firearms instructor, it is just something I get to do from time to time when a friend (or friend of a friend) comes to me and wants to learn. I think that is the most important thing. I don’t train people who aren’t serious about learning or won’t take it seriously.

    This is not to down you for using a blue gun for training. Everyone does it the way that works for them. If it works for you, do it. I just thought another point of view might be appreciated.

    s

  2. Borepatch said

    This is entirely made of awesome.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

